The Pique Journals – Part 5

Posted: March 10, 2011 in footballmood
Tags: , , , , ,

Ooooh! Me, Puyol and the Kid watching the Arsenal game!

This is our post on FootballMood. Read the rest of it here.

Hola, Amigos! It’s me Gerard Pique again! I’ve been writing for so long now that you can just call me Geri! You might have noticed that I’m a day late with my weekly column! That’s just because I was shaking so much for a day after the Arsenal game that I couldn’t possibly think or type!! And then my column would have lacked its usual strategic insight and tactical acumen. Hahaha. That’s so funny that I should write it down and make Puyi read it!

Anyway, I set off to the stadium with a resolve to emulate our President Rosell in the President’s box. You know how when our team scores and the entire stadium is going berserk with excitement, Rosell just sits there like he’s watching a rerun of “Barefoot Contessa”? Yes? Well, that’s what I wanted to be like. But what a game it turned out to be! I’m rather ashamed to admit that I failed miserably in my resolve. Our watching was was reduced to a squealing match between me and that strange kid sitting behind Puyol with eyes like the Ancient Mariner! I think I won, but by a very slim margin!

A game with all four goals scored by FC Barcelona and zero shots at goals from Arsenal! “Busi”, I said after the game, “I thought we sucked at set pieces! Who knew you’d be such a natural at it!” I don’t think Busi understood the joke because he didn’t join in the laughter. Just like Cesc. “Ooooh Cesc!” I told him before he left to London, “You should join our team. You can’t see Andres without passing the ball to him!!” And then I winked just to show him that it was a very funny joke. No reaction. Nada. Maybe my sense of humor is having an off day. It’s a good thing I didn’t tell Van Persie what I was thinking then. He might have bitten me in the ankle.

This is our post on FootballMood. Read the rest of it here.

Leave a Reply

